Movies to Watch When You’re Sick

Whenever one of my sisters or I was sick, Mom would let us watch a Christmas movie no matter the month. White Christmas was usually the number one film of choice. Nothing like Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby to lift the spirits. Today, I reinstated that tradition when I came down with a cold–this time I chose Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the Jim Carrey version). There’s just something about Christmas movies that makes a sick day a little bit better.

Some of my other picks for sick day movies:

  • No matter how lousy a day is, Star Wars can make it better. It’s not just a great movie, it’s a indelible part of my childhood that brings back dear memories.
  • Toy StoryWell, really, anything by Pixar will make a sore throat and cough a little more bearable.
  • Anything from Disney. Again, an integral part of a 1990s childhood that brings back comforting memories.
  • Golden Age Hollywood musicals: Singin’ in the Rain, Calamity Jane, The Court Jester, Meet Me in St. Louis, The Music Man, Oklahoma!, The Sound of Music, State Fair. I could go on. Unforgettable songs, entertaining dance numbers, gorgeous Technicolor costumes–how could you not feel better.
  • Jane Austen movies whether for TV or film. Timeless romances, sweet and calming, with noble heroines and handsome heroes.
Maybe critics wouldn’t describe these as “feel-good” movies–but they sure make me feel better. What are your favorite movies to watch when you’re sick?
2 comments on “Movies to Watch When You’re Sick

  1. Sheryl Bell
    August 27, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Sleepless in Seattle 🙂

  2. Bethany
    September 25, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    My number one go-to movie for a sick day is Pride and Prejudice. As long as I’m going to be on the couch for more than six hours, I might as well, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

